Skip to content

2016 ASLA Awards

UW Landscape Architecture receives four awards at ASLA Annual Meeting.

This past weekend, a number of our faculty and students attended the ASLA Annual Meeting in New Orleans. We have something special to celebrate this year — a total three student awards and one professional award from the department (the highest among all programs in the country):

Award: Award of Excellence,Residential Design Category
Project: Residential Gardens as a Health Strategy in Impoverished Communities in Developing Countries: A Case Study in Iquitos, Peru
Student: Jorge “Coco” Alarcon, MLA ’16, Student ASLA
Faculty Advisor: Ben Spencer

Award: Honor Award, Communications Category
Project: Porous Public Space: People + Rainwater + Cities
Students: Roxanne Roxanne Lee, MLA ’16, Associate ASLA; James Wohlers, MLA ’16, Student ASLA
Faculty Advisors: Nancy Rottle, FASLA; Louise Grassov


Award: Honor Award, Student Collaboration Category
Project: Bridging Disciplines/Cultivating Health: Using a collaborative international community design/build model to facilitate mental health treatment
Students:  Croatia Design/Build, Class of 2015
Faculty Advisors: Daniel Winterbottom, FASLA; Iva Dika; Stanko Stergarsek; Luka Jelusic; Serna Krtak
Client/Owner: Rab Psychiatric Hospital


Award: Honor Award, Anaylsis and Planning Category (Professional)
Project:Central Puget Sound Regional Open Space Strategy
Awardee: University of Washington Green Futures Lab, Nancy Rottle (Director)
Client: The Bullitt Foundation, The Russell Family Foundation and King Country Department of Parks and Natural Resources

We are also very proud of our alumni and their awards and accomplishments:

Award: Award of Excellence in General Design (Professional)
Project: Underpass Park, Toronto // PFS studio: Nathan Brightbill (UW MLA 2007) and others

Award: Honor Award in General Design (Professional)
Project: Grand Teton National Park Craig Thomas Discovery and Visitor Center // Swift Company: Barbara Swift (BLA 1976), Lisa Cory (BLA 1990), Alison Scheetz (MLA 2006)

Two of our students were also recognized at the Landscape Architecture Foundation Annual Benefit. Jorge “Coco” Alarcón (MLA ‘16) and Lyna Nget (BLA ‘16) were selected as the Olmsted Scholar finalists this year.

Congratulations to all!